San Miguel Literary Sala - San Miguel Literary Sala, A.C. is a non-profit organization in Mexico

November 9, 2017: Literary Sala Readings

Date: Thursday, November 9, 2017
Time: 5:00–7:00 p.m.

Location: Hotel de La Aldea
Ancha de San Antonio #15

Admission: $50 pesos for Literary Sala members, $100 for non-members. Complimentary Wine Reception. Tickets available at the door.

Murder and Meditation, Chaos and Calm

By Carole Schor

The Literary Sala proudly presents the debut of Nancy Shapiro’s beautiful new book entitled The Book of Calm along with Lily Wright, author of the Mexico thriller, Dancing with the Tiger. Lili is traveling to San Miguel from the States for this presentation.

The Book of Calm by Nancy Shapiro

Nancy Shapiro is no stranger to chaos, having navigated the grief of losing her father, going back to school at a late age, and now holding on to her mother as she slips into the fog of Alzheimer’s. Nancy has taken her own life experiences and her many years of counseling as a life coach, and has written an antidote to life’s turmoil in The Book of Calm: Clarity, Compassion and Choice in a Turbulent World. Nancy’s book opens the way to a peaceful life, “. . . by unlocking your mind’s grip of its daily angst and noisy control, you allow your heart and soul to guide you to ease.” Through stories and images, Nancy guides the reader to a place of change where growth and transformation can replace hurt and discomfort. “Calm is not limiting. Nor is it passive. It is a firmly rooted, dynamic partnership of awareness and presence — a collective awareness of thought, sensing, language, and action — a solidity of presence that stems from the wisdom and power within clarity, compassion, and choice.”

The Book of Calm supports and inspires readers to reimagine and renew their lives and their place in the world by transforming habitual patterns ingrained in their thoughts, language, and behaviors — one person, one family, one community at a time.”

Dancing with the Tiger by Lili Wright

Lili Wright is traveling to the San Miguel to introduce us to her new book, Dancing with the Tiger, a page-turning thriller filled with romance, mystery, suspense, and history; a classic Mexican history adventure story, in the tradition of John Steinbeck or B. Traven or Malcolm Lowry. Wright’s book is set in our adopted country of Mexico, a land with a cultural landscape rich in its variety of cultures, languages, geography and people. The heroine, Anne Ramsey, travels to Mexico to find the fabled “death mask of Montezuma” in order to redeem her father’s reputation after the Metropolitan Museum of Art rejects his collection of masks as counterfeit.  Anne faces off against others interested in the treasure — including a shady American expat collector, a ruthless narco boss, and a handsome artist who believes that Mexican treasures belong to, and in, Mexico.

During her many trips to Mexico, Lili Wright has lived with Mexican families, worked as a journalist, watched dancing tigers parade down streets, visited ghost towns, and started her own mask collection. Her essays and journalism have appeared in The New York Times, Newsweek, The Chicago Tribune, Down East, and many other publications.

• • •

Join us for a thrilling look at the wild side of Mexico and a calm retreat into a spiritual journey at the San Miguel Literary Sala on November 9 at 5 PM at the Hotel La Aldea. Admission is 50 pesos for members and 100 pesos for non-members, including a wine and Indian botanas reception.

Membership in the Literary Sala supports not only the literary life of San Miguel including scholarships for teens and reading projects for children in the campo, it also offers attractive benefits like reading groups, discounts at the monthly author readings, as well as discounts and priority seating at the Annual Writers’ Conference. A Membership Table will be available at the November 9 Literary Sala event. It is also possible to obtain information and join online at https://sanmiguelliterarysala.org/sala-membership/membership/.

October 26, 2017: Poetry Café Bellas Artes Special Event

Date: Thursday, October 26, 2017
Time: 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Location: Centro Cultural Ignacio Ramírez “El Nigromante”
Hernández Macías 75, Centro
Sala Literaria, 1st Floor

Admission: Suggested Donation $50 pesos

Poems in English and Spanish and Mayan — Oh, My!

By Maia Williams

"El Quetzal y la Jungla" by María Sangüesa

The first bilingual poetry event of the 2017-2018 season of Poetry Café Bellas Artes will be trilingual. Please join us on Thursday, October 26, at 5:00 PM for a special presentation by María Sangüesa, author of The Quetzal and the Jungle (El Quetzal y La Jungla), a collection of poems anchored to the Mayan world. “The poetic figures are impregnated with elements of the nature of the region, as well as images loaded with memory and nostalgia for sensations.”

María Sangüesa, was born in Morocco and lives in Madrid. She will present her work in English, Spanish, and Mayan.

Ms. Sangüesa’s travels throughout Mexico and her visit to San Migulel de Allende have been funded in part by a grant from the cultural offices of Spain. She will also be appearing at the 2017 Book Fair of Guadalajara (the world’s second largest) in November, which will host Madrid as their special guest.

• • •

Founded in January of 2016, Poetry Café Bellas Artes meets monthly, September through April. This all-volunteer community organization features local and visiting poets (established and emerging) sharing original work in a casual setting.

Please arrive a few minutes early. Seating is first come, first seated.